Community Solar Innovation Awards 2017

Hogan Lovells
Program Details

About the Awards

The UN Sustainable Development Goals, or Global Goals, were adopted in September 2015 by 193 countries to end extreme poverty, tackle inequality and injustice, and safeguard our planet. To achieve the 17 goals over the next 15 years, governments, the private sector and civil society must all play their part.

Recognizing that the opportunities for enterprises to impact sustainable development vary across industries, the UN Sustainable Development Goals, or Global Goals call for collaboration – Global Goal 17. The Community Solar Innovation Awards represent a visionary partnership across business sectors to lift people out of energy poverty and support community.

The Community Solar Innovation Awards 2017 recognizes and supports outstanding eco-inclusive businesses and not-for-profit organizations in developing countries that use solar energy or technologies to benefit lives in poor communities.

Sponsored and supported by international law firm Hogan Lovells, there are ten Awards available to the successful winners. Judges will be looking for businesses which are locally-led and significantly help the lives of women and girls, particularly those which focus on gender equality or female empowerment.

The deadline for Award submissions is 16 August 2017. Submissions should come from eligible non-OECD or non-European Union member states. Please see the sections on Eligibility Criteria and Terms & Conditions for full entry details. The judges’ decisions are final.

The Awards are implemented by adelphi with outreach support managed by SEED and Barefoot College.

For more information and how to apply, click here.